Skip navigation

WELCOME TO THE CORRIDOR, a dynamic research consortium linking 11 universities and colleges across the region, supported by an award from the Mellon Foundation. Our network cultivates innovative collaborative research, teaching, and programming.

CORRIDOR INSTITUTIONS are Syracuse University (our administrative home), Cornell University, the University of Rochester, Colgate University, Hamilton College, Hobart and William Smith Colleges, Skidmore College, St. Lawrence University, Union College, Le Moyne College, and the Rochester Institute of Technology.


The Corridor is driven by Working Groups formed by individuals from two or more Corridor-affiliated institutions in different locales who collaborate to organize activities centered on a theme, concern, or issue in the humanities. Groups apply for funding to support their academic year collaborations.

Working Group Activities take many forms... from deep dives into a discipline to broad interdisciplinary queries; from convening (online or in person) to form writing groups, develop manuscripts, or explore humanities methods to hosting larger-scale public symposia to advance community engagement or take up key social issues.

Annual Fall Writing Retreat awards send a cohort of faculty to Minnowbrook Conference Center in Blue Mountain Lake, NY for an immersive weekend of writing each early/mid-October. The proposal period opens in January each year.

library with purple carpet