Advisory Board


Vivian M. May · Director of the Humanities Center and Professor of Women’s and Gender Studies at Syracuse University.

Joan Shelley Rubin · Dexter Perkins Professor in History, Director of Graduate Studies, and the Ani and Mark Gabrellian Director of the Humanities Center, is the Project Director at the University of Rochester.

Paul Fleming · Professor of Comparative Literature and German Studies, Taylor Family Director of the Society for the Humanities, is the Project Director at Cornell University.

Gregg Lambert · (ex-officio) Dean’s Professor of the Humanities, Principal Investigator (2008-2019), Syracuse University Humanities Center.

Advisory Board Members

The Principal Investigator/Directors administrative structure is supplemented by the CNY Humanities Corridor Advisory Board.

Group photo of the 2018 Corridor Advisory Board


Syracuse University, Cornell University, and the University of Rochester are represented by the Principal Investigator/Director at each campus. In addition, two faculty members are selected from each of the CNY Humanities Corridor’s founding institutions. Other partner institutions are represented by one faculty member [in addition to any ex-officio administrative member(s)].


Representatives from each campus are internally vetted. Each campus’s selected members are appointed as a slate. Criteria for representative eligibility are adaptive to interest and participation. Representatives are appointed to a term of three years. The initial slate of representatives was represented in the 2017-18 academic year during the March 2018 planning meeting.


At the annual CNY Humanities Corridor fall conferences, the Advisory Board receives reports on the previous year’s activities, programming, and budget. Based on these reports, the Advisory Board makes recommendations to the Directors for the purpose of the following year’s review and award process conducted by the Directors. The Advisory Board may also recommend larger program changes (e.g. changes to the current research cluster configuration).

A Platform for Future Collaborations

The Corridor holds annual conferences each fall at rotating locations to:

  • Gather Advisory Board members to make programmatic recommendations for the coming year to the Principal Investigator/Directors;
  • Highlight the CNY Humanities Corridor’s activities over the course of the year; and
  • Provide faculty with enhanced opportunities to network with colleagues from across the Corridor.